I've started to feel my blogs have become a bit moany and all "poor me my life sucks" so to lighten the mood, I thought it would be fun to get you guys involved! 
Thanks to tucker for inspiring me wit this blog. 
I'm a huge music fan and music inspires or helps me through alot of stuff. So I thought what better way to get to know all you blog readers then through something I love. It's kinda a music quiz/interview.  I'm gonna ask myself some questions (involving music) and answer them, then you guys can do the same :)
Ok so here goes:
1. Which song would you say best describes you?
Deffo got to be I'm just a girl by No doubt. These lyrics "the moment that I step outside, so many reasons for me to run and hide, I can't do those little things I hold so dear, cause its all those little things that I fear" pretty much sum me up, don't you agree? well the whole song really.  plus I love that song :)
2: What song would you say is your life story?
As you know I'm just a touch pessimistic so I've always said Travis- Why does it always rain on me? is my life put to music! I'm pretty sure I lied when I was 17 too Lol
3: Which song changed your life in anyway?
I know you might think I haven't had a song that has changed my life, no song has meant quite that much to me, but it could be a song that has just flicked a switched in your mind and changed even a tiny thing. 
My song is This grudge by Alanis Morrissette from the so called chaos album. I was a huge Alanis fan and around the time this song came out, we were having trouble with my sister Emma and I was finding it to forgive and forget. I didnt want to let her in incase I got hurt all over again but I heard these lyrics "but who's it hurting now? who's the that's stuck? who's it torturing now?"  and I thought your right, I'm the one suffering by not letting go! I'm pleased to say it worked we're now super close and I have my sister back! Thank you Alanis!! see life changing song :P
4. What song never fails to cheer you up?
Mines Tenacious D- Tribute. If you haven;t heard this song, its Jack black and it's funny. This song always makes me think of my other sister Lee, we both have the same silly humour and are quite hyper when we're together and this is one of our fav silly songs :)
5: Which cheesy/embarrassing song can you not help but love?
For me its deffo Love shack by the B52s LOL so cheesy, so strange but I can't help but sing along. I'm not ashamed to say that, while painting, when they sing "bang bang bang on the door baby, knock a little louder sugar etc" I do mime knocking on a door :P
6. What song makes you cry?
Nickleback- Lullaby. I don't know what it is about the song but it gets me every time. The first time I heard it I was really down and getting over the death of my uncle and everything felt like it was piling up. I remember hearing it and tears were just running down my cheeks, all I could think was I wish I had someone to sing those words to me, someone who just wanted to try and take the hurt away. It still makes me cry!
7. What lyric pulls you through a rough patch?
For me its "I never really gave up on, breaking out of this two-star town, I got the green light, I got a little fight, I'm gonna turn this thing around" it's from The Killers- read my mind. Whenever I feel like giving up on my dreams this just pops into my head and I think I have got a little fight, keep going Donna lol.
8. What song do you find yourself having a little sing-a-long and boogie too?
I know I always say I'm a rock chick and I really am a massive rock fan but my song is Kesha- we are who we are! I also sing along and dance to it. While its playing and i'm alone I have a little dance while making a drink or walking upstairs etc lol.
9. Have you ever sang a song on stage? if not whats your karaoke song?
I don't do karaoke, I wouldn't inflict this voice on anyone, my singing's saved for when im locked in the studio with my easel but I did once perform Who do you think you are by the spice girls, well I say performed- we mimed! It was the last year of school and me and 4 friends dressed  up as different members of the spice girls and performed the routine in a friends living room for her family :P I was posh spice purely because I had the bob haircut and a top and shirt quite like her lol 
10. Finally what song would you dedicate to me?
Might sound abit vain (and i'm not) but it's really just an excuse to dedicate a song to you guys. My song for you all is Kelly Clarkson- My life would suck without you. A little bit cheesy to say I know :P The title speaks for itself really but you guys really help me through so much, you give me advice, you pick me up when my spirits are low and more importantly make me laugh :) so cheers guys :)

Now I've done mine, I'd love it if you could comment with your answers :) thats where the getting to know you bit comes into it :P  don't worry you don't have to have an anwser for every question or make it as long as this. Just as long as you share with me I don't mind LOL :)
If you all liked this and enough people respond, maybe we could do more or similar?
I'll leave you to think with some music enjoy!
Till next time bye 
Donna  xxxxxx
read tuckers blog here  http://jtdougan.blogspot.com The guy that inspired this blog
8/29/2012 03:59:26 pm

A few good tunes in there :)

Glad I inspired you to write this wee blog. Keep them coming :)

Reply
James the cat
8/30/2012 06:51:16 am

1. Which song would you say best describes you? well this is a tough one, dont really know but i guess Alanis Nicorette, Ironic could describe me and my life

2: What song would you say is your life story? again Alanis Nicorette and Ironic. Boring i know but it always seems to be that way, its like rain on your wedding day

3: Which song changed your life in anyway? Hurt by Johnny Cash, if ever i have a bad day i turn to this. when i first heard it i was blown away. I love Johnny and it made me think about life so much and to change the way i view everday

4. What song never fails to cheer you up? Happy Hour Again by The Housemartins. pretty self explanitory. brilliant song that would cheer anybody up


5: Which cheesy/embarrassing song can you not help but love? anything by McFly. I love em and i know i shouldnt, i once got one of their songs to repeat 21 times at work before somebody noticed. epic day :)


6. What song makes you cry? Never Went To Church by The Streets, a very a sad song if you listen to the lyrics properly

7. What lyric pulls you through a rough patch? What have i become, my sweetest friend. everyone i know goes away in the end. From Hurt by Johnny Cash. When my nan died i listened to this and just cried, after a while i stopped and thought my nan wouldnt want this and the lyrics really made me realise we all have to carry on no matter how bad it gets.

8. What song do you find yourself having a little sing-a-long and boogie too? Monkey Man by The Specials, just a tune that gets me going, always just bounce and skank to it whenever my mates band play it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zi4MOA_1MYA

never sang a song on stage as i could never inflict my voice on anybody so number 9 is out

10. Finally what song would you dedicate to me? well this is tough. weve lived similar lives in a lot of ways i think and i dont want to sound weird lol but Your amazing by Bruno Mars is what i would dedicate to a person whose friendship i treasure above most xxx










Reply
8/31/2012 07:19:37 am

firstly great song list mate and you've been so open :)
I love Alanis morrisstte.
Now i know what song to get you to listen to when your down lol
Would never have you down as a secret mcFly fan!!! little surprised lol
sadder then dry your eyes mate??
aww those are some painful lyrics !! :(
awww thats a sweet dedication! :) thanks hun im glad you value my friendship so much :) x

Reply
Motorsportpete
8/31/2012 06:29:20 am

1) don't stop believin by jouney coz I'm casing my dream of becoming a racing driver 

2) can't think of one for my life story but A Bad Dream by Keane for the 6 months I was out of work coz some days it felt like a very bad dream 

3) run by leona Lewis when I heard this for the first time I was amazed by it what an great voice it is one of my all time favourite songs ever  

4) in the air tonight by Phil Collins I like the bit when he does the drum coz I always pretend I playing drums when I hear that 

5) Saturday night by whigfield is so cheesy I like it 

6) drive by the cars this song gets me everyone when I hear whos gonna drive you home tonight it sets me off 

8) the power of love by Huey Lewis ever time I hear that I sing along especial when I watch my favourite film back to the future 

9) I've sang angels by Robbin Williams a few of us did ages ago i will always remember that was a fun day 

10) born this way by lady GaGa coz I think you don't care that your small and you like the way you are 

Reply
8/31/2012 07:00:26 am

Hi Pete,
great set of songs there! I love Saturday night but thats super cheesy. lol I think we all do the air drums to Phil collins haha!
I knew you'd get Leona Lewis in there somewhere :P you've been so open I'll forgive you for missing a question :P hehe So cool that you sang Angels, see your not that shy :P
Hahaha thanks for the dedication- I'd agree with that one :) x

Reply
singing and dancing stalker ;)
8/31/2012 06:30:04 am

1. Which song would you say best describes you?
- umm tough one maybe 'Pink - Perfect.' As I always doubt myself but everyone said i'm alright really lol.

2: What song would you say is your life story?
- *Cheesy choice alert - probs 'Papa Don't Preach - Madonna'

3: Which song changed your life in anyway?
- 'I'm Sticking With You - Velvet Underground' just such amazing memories!

4. What song never fails to cheer you up?
- 'Tree Hugger - Kimi Dawson' it's just so strange and cool.

5: Which cheesy/embarrassing song can you not help but love?
- SPICE GIRLS duhhhh ;)

6. What song makes you cry?
- Kindly Unspoken - Kate Voegele

7. What lyric pulls you through a rough patch?
- "I'm tired of looking 'round rooms.. Wondering what I've got to do.. Or who I'm supposed to be.. I don't want to be anything other than me" - I Don't Want To Be - Gavin Degraw

8. What song do you find yourself having a little sing-a-long and boogie too?
- Does Happy Feet 2 Opening Medley count ! ;P

10. Finally what song would you dedicate to me?
- To you my dear most probably 'Sing - My Chemical Romance' as I do believe it was along the things we spoke about towards the beginning of our twitter friendship :)

Reply
8/31/2012 07:12:33 am

Aww i think perfect by pink sums you up perfectly_ did u see what i did there lol and its a great song!
ooh ive not heard of im sticking with you or tree hugger or kindly spoken! - *rushes off to look them up*
spice girls are my guilty pleasure too lol!! GIRL POWER :P
no.7 oooh those are some great lyrics!!!
Happy feet totally counts lol
Aww great dedication! that some freaking rocks! love my chemical romance and I think you may be right lol

Reply
UnitedF1
9/1/2012 08:55:39 am

1. Which song best describes you?
'Waiting On The World To Change' by John Mayer.

I want only good in the world, I know there will never be only good, but good always beats evil no matter how long it takes and who or what is lost. If there is no good, I make some.

2. What song would you say is your life story?
'Stop For A Minute [feat. K'naan']' by Keane.

I'm a thinker, I think a lot, but I'm calm, I'm composed and no matter how bad I feel or how low times can be, I do what the song says, stop and think.

3. Which song changed your life in any way?
'You Can't Always Get What You Want' by The Rolling Stones.

It's really a great moral, something you wouldn't think about, but even you have to admit you try get everything you want. Sometimes you have to face the facts.

4. What song never fails to cheer you up?
'Just A Day' by Feeder.

I first heard this on Gran Turismo 3 (PS2 game). It's so lively it just never gets old haha.

5. Which cheesy/embarrassing song can you not help but love?
I actually don't want to say because you might hold this against me one day.

6. What song makes you cry?
'Songbird [feat. Christine McVie]' by Fleetwood Mac.

Not much to say really, just makes me sad, reminds me of Senna.

7. What lyric pulls you through a rough patch?
Actions inspire me more than words.

8. What do you find yourself having a little sing-a-long and boogie to?
One does not sing or boogie. I do air-guitar the bass solo on 'Chains' by Fleetwood Mac though, irresistible!

9. Have you ever sang a song on stage? If not what's your karaoke song?
No, and probably anything by Kasabian and Oasis (besides 'Wonderwall').

Wouldn't know what to say, it's Oasis. They're great haha.

10. Finally, what song would you dedicate to me?
'Beautiful' by Eminem.

Life has its ups and downs, you always pick yourself up, this song is one I think that relates to you, and partly to me as well.

Reply
9/1/2012 09:33:19 am

hi great song list! some i haven't heard of :P
1. i love the way the you think, i hope life never takes that hope away :)
2. thats probably one of the only keane songs i've not heard lol so for the message i will have a listen and 3 lol :)
4. anything by feeder is lively haha :)
5. haha i would'nt hold a song against you, whisper it lol i admitted to love shack :P
6. aww u softy :)
7. true but words help you haha :P
8. air-guitaring is the best! much better then dancing lol.
9. I've never karaoked or sang on stage but i probably would actually choose wonderwall lol :P
10. Aww thanks I agree actually we both suit that song and I love it so thanks :) xx

Reply
Taras Dhedhi (krustylicious)
9/1/2012 07:52:19 pm

1 Which song would you say best describes you?
manic mondays. i think that song always reminds me of work and trying to get to a place on time ..

2 What song would you say is your life story?
Here I Go Again - whitesnake.
cos i'm independent and people have always come to me for help. regardless of it being a friend or for work stuff.I think people forget that i need that too sometimes :).

3 Which song changed your life in anyway?

Songs haven't i think people have and even some words from a friend back when i was a shy 13 year old has ..

4 What song never fails to cheer you up?
Saturday night, love shack, living on a prayer and sweet child o'mine . I have loads that do for me so its hard q actually .. all of 80s cheese would i think.

5 Which cheesy/embarrassing song can you not help but love?

Saturday night by wigfield ..

6 What song makes you cry?

I'm a guy so this will be hard. There isn't a single song as such but more poignant songs used in stories on tv does do that to me instead. but if i had to choose one song. it would be every rose has its thorn. simply because the song and music is so powerful ..

7 What lyric pulls you through a rough patch?

Not sure a rough patch but two songs that insspire me is the dream by irene cara and I Believe by Yolanda Adams

8 What song do you find yourself having a little sing-a-long and boogie too?

Saturday night, love shack, Fasination (alphabeat), and probably a million others :P

9. Have you ever sang a song on stage? if not whats your karaoke song?

One of my friends on facebook has got a video of me slightly drunk and doing kareoke ...

10 Finally what song would you dedicate to me?

To dedicate to you i think pink and Get The Party Started, cos you and ur sis have really fun times together.

Reply
9/1/2012 09:05:57 pm

1) What song would I say best describes me:- its a tough one but I have to say probably Perfect by Pink - I've made many mistakes, took wrong turns like everyone but no-one is perfect and through it all I have come out the other end.
2) What song is my life story well that one is a tough one I can't really say but I like Beyonce I was here 'I was here, I lived, I loved, I was here, I did, I've done, everything that I wanted and it was more than I thought it would be'
3) Again a hard one but I like to think Lostprophets Better off dead the line 'I'd rather die on my feet, than ever live on my knees' it sort of made me think yes I'm never giving up I will fight till the end and deal with everything I'm faced with on my feet with my head held high.
4) Paolo Nutini Pencil Full of Lead - this song always make's me get up and dance :-) It just makes me think yeah I am really lucky and have a lot that others don't have, it makes me very thankful.
5) A cheesy song which I can't help but love, well right now I have to say Carly Rae Jepson's Call Me Maybe, I just love the song and lately it has a lot of meaning to it.
6) What song makes me cry - well there are a few Phil Collins I wish it would rain down, the music and the lyrics get me every time. Celine Dion Call the man never fails and Robbie Williams Angels - I can't listen to it as it was played at my brothers funeral and always breaks my heart.
7) I can't really pick a particular one - I like the Killers one you suggested and also Coldplays Fix you, kind of says you're not on you're own I suppose.
8) I have a good boogie to any We Are The In Crowd songs, or just any song with a good beat cause I just love to dance and boogie.
9) Yes I have sang alot on stage, my main song to sing is Madonna like a prayer but I also love and Adele or Kelly Clarkson song, and Beyonce's Ave Maria is a good one, and I love to sing any Lana Del Ray song or any Florence And The Machine song - I just love to sing 10) What song would I dedicate to you well that's a hard one but just simply cause you love them I would dedicate The Killers new song Runaways, as a fellow Killers fan I know you're so excited about the new song it's amazing.

Reply
9/1/2012 10:15:01 pm

1. Which song would you say best describes you?

For You - John Denver

2: What song would you say is your life story?

Am Too Young to Answer this Question, Dont think its there as of Now :)

3: Which song changed your life in anyway?

Louis Armstrong - We Have All The Time In The World

4. What song never fails to cheer you up?

Katie Perry - Fireworks

5: Which cheesy/embarrassing song can you not help but love?

Lay, Lady, Lay - Bob Dylan

6. What song makes you cry?

Adele - Make You Feel My Love ( Sometimes that Is )

7. What lyric pulls you through a rough patch?

The Power of Love

8. What song do you find yourself having a little sing-a-long and boogie too?

You Fill Up My Senses - John Denver

9. Have you ever sang a song on stage? if not whats your karaoke song?

Open Arms

10. Finally what song would you dedicate to me?

My Favorite Things - Sound of Music

Reply
9/2/2012 08:46:07 am

Ok, I'm going to have a go at this...

1 Which song would you say best describes you?

It's My Life by Talk Talk or No Doubt. It's the title of my blog and my life is MY life, no one elses.

2 What song would you say is your life story?

Oceanic, Insanity... my life is a bit insane at times with some of the stuff that goes on


3 Which song changed your life in anyway?

Journey's Don't Stop Believing didn't change anything but it gave me the hope that a situation I was in a few years ago would change... and it did eventually.



4 What song never fails to cheer you up?

Train, Save Me San Francisco. This is just one of those songs that simple clicked with me because of my love for a place I didn't get to spend a lot of time in. When I go on one of my virtual escapes from reality, it's usually to San Francisco


5 Which cheesy/embarrassing song can you not help but love?

2 Unlimited, There's No Limit. It's pure cheese but it's one I find myself bouncing along to any time I hear it.

6 What song makes you cry?

It doesn't make my cry but I can never sing Flower of Scotland without getting stuck because of the lump in my throat.

7 What lyric pulls you through a rough patch?

Another Train song... Parachute

8 What song do you find yourself having a little sing-a-long and boogie too?

Just now it's Call Me Maybe by Carly Rae Jepsen but that's because it's never off my local radio station and my son has got it on loop in his room... well feels like that lol.

9. Have you ever sang a song on stage? If not whats your karaoke song?

I don't have a karaoke song but twice I've sang Backsteet Boys, I Want It That Way. Once at our millennium party and then again at my leaving party for my old job a few weeks ago.

10 Finally what song would you dedicate to me?
Roxette, Paint... cos you're a painter girl ;) x



Reply



Leave a Reply.